Wisconsin's National Treasures

The Lights of Sand Island - photo by Mark WellerBayfield County is home to eight (8) nationally designated areas - more than any other place in Wisconsin. These areas have been preserved for the enjoyment of all because of the incredible natural history and ecological diversity that is unique and special. Learn more about each one:

Start your visit at the Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center where you can learn more about our National Treasures. 

Learn more about the Apostle Islands National Lakeshore on the Friends of the Apostle Islands website.

Come for a visit - there’s so much to explore!