- County Clerk
- Licensing Information
- Marriage Licenses
Where To Apply
- Per 2021 Wisconsin Act 84, a marriage license may be obtained from any county in Wisconsin and the license authorizes the ceremony to be conducted in any Wisconsin county.
- Both applicants must apply in person in the County Clerk’s office. We suggest that applicants set an appointment no later than 3:15 p.m. on any given day as the application process may take 20-30 minutes.
- If applicants are attempting to obtain a license close to a holiday, it is recommended to call the office to double check potential holiday hours.
- Due to construction taking place at the Courthouse, the County Clerk's Office will only be conducting marriage license applications through appointment only. To make an appointment, call the County Clerk's Office at 715-373-6100. The County Clerk's Office is open Monday-Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Fee, Waiting Period, & License Expiration
- The cost is $60 payable by check, cash or by credit card. (We accept Mastercard, Discover, VISA and American Express.)
- The marriage license is issued after a three-day (3) waiting period which starts the day after the license application is completed.
- Under special circumstances, the waiting period may be waived on approval of the County Clerk. The waiver fee is $10.
- The license is valid for 60 days.
Required Documents Needed
- Certified Copy of Birth Record -This document is primarily issued by the state where the applicant was born. Under special circumstances, larger Counties are responsible for issuing birth records. The document provided must be a certified copy that contains either a raised seal or certified stamp on it. Applicants may confuse this with the original birth record from the hospital where the applicant was born.
- Only a certified copy of the birth record issued either by the County or the State will be accepted.
- Valid form of Identification -An applicant may bring in the following documentation as a form of identification and/or proof of residence:
- Valid Driver's License
- If the address is NOT current on the license provided, the applicant may also provide a piece of dated mail with their name and address listed on it. The date requirements are the same for the example listed below.
- Government Issued ID (i.e., State or Tribal ID card)
- University, College, or Technical College ID card
- Valid Passport
- Rental Lease
- Mortgage Statement
- Pay Stub / Paycheck
- Property Tax Statement
- Utility Bill (no less than 90 days old)
- Valid Driver's License
*None of the documents provided may be expired or they will not be considered as a valid proof of identification/residence.
- Documents from Previous Marriage (If Applicable) - In Wisconsin, applicants who were previously married will have to show how the last marriage ended (i.e., death record or court judgement).
- If the applicants were divorced, they MAY NOT marry for six (6) months from the date of the final divorce in the State of Wisconsin. The applicant(s) must provide a certified copy of the court judgement, either the Judgement of Divorce or an Annulment. A certified copy of these documents will contain the signature of and be stamped by the Judge of that Circuit Court.
- If the spouse of an applicant is deceased, the applicant must provide a certified copy of the death record to verify the end of the previous marriage.
**Photocopies of any of the aforementioned documents will NOT be accepted. Applicants are responsible for providing original copies of all necessary documentation.
- Social Security Number - Applicants will be required to provide their social security number at the time of application. This requirement only applies if the applicant has a social security number before the time of application.
additional Wedding Information Needed
- Date of Wedding
- Location of the Ceremony (county, city, village or township)
- Officiant name, mailing address and telephone number
***If the applicants are looking to be married by the Bayfield County Judge, an appointment will need to be made through the Bayfield County Clerk of Courts Office first at: 715-373-6108. Applicants should keep the license waiver period and expiration date in mind when making an appointment.
The age requirement is 18 years or order. Applicants 16 or 17 years old will need a signed consent form is required. The consent form must be signed by the parent(s), legal guardian, custodian (appointed by a court), or person having actual care, custody and control of the applicant.
The consent form is an official oath; it states the person signing swears he/she does in fact have the legal authority to give consent and that the consent is given. It must be signed in the presence of the County Clerk or in the presence of a Notary Public and it must be presented to the County Clerk at the time of license application.
- If applicant is 16 or 17 years old the age requirement terms will apply.
- If applicant is 18 years or older, the terms of each specific guardianship will apply.
returning a marriage license
The marriage license must be filed with the Register of Deeds Office within three (3) days following the wedding ceremony. A marriage license may be mailed or delivered in person.
- Act 84 allows applicants to return a marriage license to the Register of Deeds Office of any county in Wisconsin.
Documents Not In English
If any of the above needed documents are not in English, documents need to be translated into English, prior to the filing for the marriage license. A Certificate of Translation must then accompany the original documents when applying for the marriage license.